FLAIRS Logo

Track Overview
Submission Guidelines
Conference Proceedings
Invited Speakers
Program Committee
Further Information
Conference Websites

Call for Papers

AI and Cyber Security

Special Track at
The 26
th International FLAIRS Conference
In cooperation with the American Association for Artificial Intelligence

St. Pete Beach, Florida

May 22 - 24, 2013

Paper submission deadline: November 19, 2012
Notifications: January 21, 2013

Camera ready version due: February 25, 2013

 All accepted papers will be published as FLAIRS proceedings by the AAAI
[and journal if applicable]

Track Overview

Cyber Security is an interdisciplinary area that focuses on maintaining and reducing risks to the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of information and resources in computer and network systems.  The complexity of modern systems and the diversity of threat vectors both social and technical, require intelligent, adaptive, multimodal solutions for which artificial intelligence (AI) approaches are well suited.

This track will focus on identifying state of the art artificial intelligence based solutions to problems related to cyber security.  This track will be of interest to researchers and leading edge practitioners in academia, industry, and government agencies concerned with computer and network security.

Original high quality papers are sought for leading edge research and applications relating to the application of AI and Cyber Security. Topics of interest may include but are not limited to:

  • Machine Learning for Intrusion Detection Systems

  • NLP for text analysis in Cyber Security

  • Video and CCTV semantic analysis for terrorist or criminal action detection

  • AI & Biometrics

  • AI & SCADA systems security

  • AI & Network Systems security

  • AI & Embedded Systems security

  • AI in Forensic Analysis

  • AI & Cloud Computing security

Note: We invite original papers (i.e. work not previously submitted, in submission, or to be submitted to another conference during the reviewing process).

Submission Guidelines

Interested authors should format their papers according to AAAI formatting guidelines. The papers should be original work (i.e., not submitted, in submission, or submitted to another conference while in review). Papers should not exceed 6 pages (4 pages for a poster) and are due by November 19, 2012. For FLAIRS-26, the 2013 conference, the reviewing is a double blind process. Fake author names and affiliations must be used on submitted papers to provide double-blind reviewing. Papers must be submitted as PDF through the EasyChair conference system, which can be accessed through the main conference web site (http://www.flairs-26.info/). Note: do not use a fake name for your EasyChair login - your EasyChair account information is hidden from reviewers. Authors should indicate the AI and Cyber Security special track for submissions. The proceedings of FLAIRS will be published by the AAAI. Authors of accepted papers will be required to sign a form transferring copyright of their contribution to AAAI. FLAIRS requires that there be at least one full author registration per paper.

Please check the website http://www.flairs-26.info/ for further information.

Conference Proceedings

Papers will be refereed and all accepted papers will appear in the conference proceedings, which will be published by AAAI Press.  

Invited Speakers

To be announced

Program Committee

Abdullahi Arabo, University of Oxford, (abdullahi.arabo@oii.ox.ac.uk)

Brian Auslander, Knexus Research Corporation, (bryan.auslander@gmail.com)

Peter Chen, Louisiana State University, & Carnegie Mellon University (pchen@lsu.edu)

Bahadir K. Gunturk, Louisiana State University, (bahadir@ece.lsu.edu)

Ge Jin, Purdue University Calumet, (ge.jin@purduecal.edu)

Stephen Johnson, Baker Hughes, (stephen.johnson3@bakerhughes.com)

Tae-Hoon Kim, Purdue University Calumet, (tae-hoon.kim@purduecal.edu)

Weiru Liu, Queen's University Belfast, (w.liu@qub.ac.uk)

Roberto Perdisci, University of Georgia, (roberto.perdisci@cs.uga.edu)

Milan Petkovic, Eindhoven University of Technology, & Phillips Research Europe (milan.petkovic@philips.com)

Nicolas Sabouret, Laboratoire d'Informatique de Paris, (nicholas.sabouret@lip6.fr)

Rajesh Sankaran, Argonne National Laboratory, (rajesh@mcs.anl.gov)

Amin Shah-hosseini, CamStar Systems, (amin_shah_h@hotmail.com)

Brygg Ullmer, Louisiana State University, (ullmer@cct.lsu.edu)

John Usher, Mississippi State University, (usher@ise.msstate.edu)

Michel Valstar, University of Nottingham, (Michel.Valstar@nottingham.ac.uk)

(new track – remaining members TBD)

 

Further Information

Questions regarding the AI and Cyber Security special track should be addressed to the track co-chairs:

Questions regarding Special Tracks in general should be addressed to William (Bill) Eberle, WEberle@tntech.edu.

For other information on the conference, please contact:

Conference Chair:

Philip McCarthy, The University of Memphis, USA

Program Co-Chairs:

Chutima Boonthum-Denecke, Hampton University, USA
G. Michael Youngblood, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA.

Special Tracks Coordinator:

William (Bill) Eberle, Tennessee Technological University, USA

 

Conference Web Sites

Paper submission site: follow the link for submissions at http://www.flairs-26.info/
FLAIRS-26 conference web page: http://www.flairs-26.info/
Florida AI Research Society (FLAIRS): http://www.flairs.com 

FLAIRS-26 home page